The Society
Commissions and JTCs
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
Rocha Medal 2012 awarded to Dr Maria Teresa Zandarin from Argentina

The ISRM Board decided to award the Rocha Medal 2012 to Dr Maria Teresa Zandarin from Argentina for the thesis “Thermo-hydro-mechanical Analysis of Joints. A Theoretical and Experimental Study” presented at the Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain. She will receive the award at the 2012 ISRM International Symposium in Stockholm.

Two runner-up certificates were also awarded to Dr Bryan Philip Watson from South Africa for the thesis “Rock Behaviour of the Bushveld Merensky Reef and the Design of Crush Pillars” presented to the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa, and to Dr Joshua Taron from the USA for the thesis “Geophysical and Geochemical Analyses of Flow and Deformation in Fractured Rock” presented to the Pennsylvania State University, USA.

Click on the link at the bottom of the page to go to the Rocha Medal page, where the CVs and Summaries of the winning theses are available.

    •  Go to the Rocha medal page