The Society
Commissions and JTCs
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
Rocha Medal 2010 awarded to Dr J. Christer Andersson

Ten PhD theses from all over the world were short listed for the Rocha Medal 2010 of the ISRM, which distinguishes the best PhD thesis in Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering. The Award Committee decided to award this prize to the thesis Rock Mass Response to Coupled Mechanical Thermal Loading. Äspö Pillar Stability Experiment, Sweden, presented by Dr J. Christer Andersson, from Sweden.

The Board also awarded 2 runner-up certificates to Dr Yoon Jeoung Seok, from Korea, for the thesis “Hydro-mechanical coupling of shear-induced rock fracturing by bonded particle modelling” and to Dr Abbas Taheri, from Iran, for the thesis “Study on shear strength and deformability properties of rock masses by in-situ and laboratory testing methods”.

Click on the link at the bottom of the page to go to the Rocha Medal page, where the CVs and Summaries of the winning theses are available.


    •  See the Rocha medal page