The Society
Introduction to ISRM
The ISRM Board
National Groups
Statutes and By-laws
Benefits to members
How to join the ISRM
Commissions and JTCs
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM

In 1967 the Council decided to appoint Commissions for studying scientific and technical matters of concern to the Society, operating in accordance with specific rules. The following Commissions having been set for a limited period from then on:

  • Commission on Application of Geophysics to Rock Engineering (1996-...)
  • Commission on Behaviour of Tunnels and other Permanent Openings (1972-1980)
  • Commission on Case Histories (1980-1988) and (2004-2007)
  • Commission on Classification of Rocks and Rock masses (1971-1989)
  • Commission on Communications (1988-1991)
  • Commission on Computer Programs (1976-1987)
  • Commission on Design of High Slopes in Mining (1980-1983)
  • Commission on Education (1988-...)
  • Commission on Environment (2004-2007)
  • Commission on Information Technology (2000 -2003)
  • Commission on Interpretation of Hydraulic Fracturing Records (1983-1989)
  • Commission on Preservation of Natural Stone Monuments (1995-2007)
  • Commission on Maintenance and Repair of Underground Structures in Rock Masses (2004-2007)
  • Commission on Mine Closure (1994-2007)
  • Commission on Publication and Translation (1973-1979)
  • Commission on Radioactive Waste Disposal (2007-2011)
  • Commission on Recommendations on Site Investigation Techniques (1967-1975)
  • Commission on Research (previously called Commission on Definition of the Most Promising Lines of Research) (1967-1987)
  • Commission on Rock Boreability, Cuttability and Drillability (1980-1989)
  • Commission on Rock Dynamics (2007-2011)
  • Commission on Rockbursts in Hardrock Situations (1994-1999)
  • Commission on Rock Failure Mechanisms in Underground Openings (1981-1991)
  • Commission on Rock Fragmentation by Blasting (1989-1999)
  • Commission on Rock Grouting (1988-1995)
  • Commission on Rock Joints (1988-1992)
  • Commission on Rock Properties for Petroleum Engineering (1989-1995)
  • Commission on Scale Effects in Rock Mechanics (1988-1995)
  • Commission on Squeezing Rocks in Tunnels (1987-1999)
  • Commission on Swelling Rocks (1978-...)
  • Commission on Teaching of Rock Mechanics (1967-1981)
  • Commission on Tectonic Stability and Site Selection (1988-1991)
  • Commission on Terminology, Symbols, and Graphic Representation (1967-1975)
  • Commission on Testing Methods (previously called Commission on Standardization of Laboratory and Field Tests) (1967-...)
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 1 on Landslides and Engineered Slopes (2002 -...)
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 2 on Representation of Geo-Engineering Data (
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 3 on Education and Training (
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 4 on Professional Practice (
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 5 on Sustainable Use of Underground Space (
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 6 on Ancient Monuments/Historical Sites (
  • IAEG-ISRM-ISSMGE Joint Technical Committee n. 7 on Soft Rocks and Indurated Soils (

  •   Back