The Society
Commissions and JTCs
The Müller Award
The Rocha Medal
The ISRM Franklin Lecture
The ISRM Fellows
The Best Performing National Group Award
The Outstanding Commission Award
John Hudson Rock Engineering Award
Science and Technology Awards
Young Engineers Prize
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
The Müller Award

The Müller Award

The ISRM Board decided at its Pau meeting in September 1989, to institute an award to honour the memory of Prof. Leopold Müller, the founder and first President of the Society. Prof. Müller, as the enthusiastic founder of the Society, took the initiative to aggregate to the Salzburger Group scientists from all over the world interested in the new-born branch of science, rock mechanics, with the purpose to bring together and to give unity not only to the scattered knowledge obtained by groups working more or less isolated on problems posed by rock masses, but even to knowledge contributed by those pursuing other aims but with interest in the field.

The award is made once every four years in recognition of distinguished contributions to the profession of rock mechanics and rock engineering and consists of a special Müller Lecture to be delivered at the ISRM International Congresses, a work of art typical of the culture of the country hosting the Congress and a silver medallion with a portrait of Leopold Müller.

Recipients of the Müller Award

1991Evert HoekCANADA
1995Neville CookUSA
1999Herbert EinsteinUSA
2007Edwin T. BrownAUSTRALIA
2015John A. HudsonUNITED KINGDOM
2019Peter KaiserCANADA



Videos of some Müller Award Lectures are online in the ISRM site. Please follow this link.