The Society
Introduction to ISRM
The ISRM Board
National Groups
Statutes and By-laws
Benefits to members
How to join the ISRM
Commissions and JTCs
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
Vice President for Asia

Seokwon Jeon, Korea

Prof. Seokwon Jeon
Department of Energy Systems Engineering
Seoul National University
1 Gwanak-ro Gwanak-gu
Seoul 08826

Tel: +82-2-880-8807 
Mob: +82-10-8711-8356
Fax: +82-2-873-2717

Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Seokwon Jeon is currently a Professor in the Department of Energy Systems Engineering at Seoul National University, Korea. He received his BS and MS degree in Mineral and Petroleum Engineering at Seoul National University. And he received his MEng degree in Geotechnical Engineering and PhD in Mining and Geological Engineering from University of California and the University of Arizona, respectively. He started teaching at Seoul National University in 1997 as a senior lecturer.

His research interests include rock fracture mechanics, fragmentation, tunnel design and stability analysis, mechanized tunneling, controlled blasting and demolition. For the past 17 years, he authored and co-authored more than 100 international and domestic peer-reviewed journal articles and more than 150 conference presentations. He served as Editor-in-chief of Tunneling Technology, a Journal of Korean Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (KTA) and as Associate Editor of International Journal of Geo-Engineering.  

Dr. Jeon was invited as a visiting scholar to Swiss Institute of Technology, Lausanne in 2010 and invited as a high-end foreign expert to Northeastern University in China provided with the generous financial support from Liaoning Province from 2014-2016. He served as Director of Research Institute of Energy Resources at Seoul National University in the period of 2009-2013.

Dr. Jeon is an active member of ISRM, ISSMGE, ACUUS, ITA and their affiliated Korean National Groups. He was awarded for outstanding scholastic achievement from Korean Society for Rock Mechanics (KSRM), Korean Geotechnical Society (KGS), and KTA. And he was awarded for outstanding technical merits from the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy.