The Society
Commissions and JTCs
The Müller Award
The Rocha Medal
The ISRM Franklin Lecture
The ISRM Fellows
The Best Performing National Group Award
The Outstanding Commission Award
John Hudson Rock Engineering Award
Science and Technology Awards
Young Engineers Prize
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
The ISRM Franklin Lecture

The ISRM Board decided, in July 2011, to institute the ISRM Lecture. In November 2012 it was renamed ISRM Franklin Lecture, in order to honour the memory of Professor John Franklin, president of the International Society for Rock Mechanics from 1987 to 1991.

The purpose of the ISRM Franklin Lecture is to recognise a mid-career ISRM member who has made a significant contribution to a specific area of rock mechanics and/or rock engineering. The ISRM Franklin Lecture is given in every year, at the respective ISRM International Symposium, except for those years when the 4-yearly ISRM Congress is held. The selection of the ISRM Franklin Lecturer is done in accordance with the Guideline for the ISRM Franklin Lecture.

ISRM Franklin Lecturers

2020 - Fredrik Johansson, SWEDEN - Managing uncertainties in sliding stability re-assessment of concrete dams founded on rock

2018 - Hideaki Yasuhara, JAPAN - Thermal-Hydraulic-Mechanical-Chemical Couplings that Define the Evolution of Flow and Transport Behaviour in Fractured Rocks

2017 - François Malan, SOUTH AFRICA- Numerical Modelling of Tabular Excavations: Old Problems and New Solutions

2016 - Heinz Konietzky, GERMANY - Micromechanical Rock Models

2014 - Masahiko Osada, JAPAN - Drying-induced Deformation Characteristics of Rocks

2013 - Andreas Gorički, AUSTRIA - Engineering aspects of geotechnical tunnel design

2012 - José Muralha, PORTUGAL - Rock joint shear tests. Methods, results and relevance for design