The Society
Introduction to ISRM
The ISRM Board
National Groups
Statutes and By-laws
Benefits to members
How to join the ISRM
Commissions and JTCs
ISRM Information
Products and Publications
List of Corporate Members
Links of Interest
Contact Us


Forgot your password?
Join the ISRM
John A. Hudson

John A. Hudson

President of the ISRM, 2007 - 2011

Born in 1940, died in 2019. 


Curriculum Vitae

John A. Hudson, BSc, PhD, DSc, FREng, obtained his BSc degree in Mining Engineering from the Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1965 and his PhD in rock mechanics as applied to both civil and mining engineering from the University of Minnesota, USA, in 1970. After a further two-year period of post-doctoral study at the University of Minnesota, from 1972-1977 he worked in the Tunnels Division at the Transport and Road Research Laboratory, UK. Then, from 1977-1979 at the Department of Strategic Research Operations in the Department of the Enviroment, UK; from 1979-1980 as a Visiting Professor at the University of Wisconsin, USA; and from 1980-1983 at the Building Research Station, UK. During this latter period, he was awarded the DSc degree by the Heriot-Watt University. 

From 1983 to the present, he has been affiliated as Reader, Professor, and now Emeritus Professor in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering at the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London, UK. He has supervised 17 PhD students and 50 MSc students. He was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) in 1998. He became a Fellow of the American Rock Mechanics Association in 2009. Also and since 1985, Professor Hudson has acted as an independent consultant on more than 150 projects around the world. He has also given Short Courses on the principles of rock mechanics in many countries.

His past and current work for the ISRM has included being Chairman of the Technical Committee for the ISRM Cambridge Rock Mechanics Symposium, UK, 1984, being the ISRM UK National Group representative, 1987-2011 (as a Member of the British Geotechnical Association), being the ISRM Vice-President at Large (1995-1999), as President of the ISRM Commission on Testing Methods (1987-2007), as Chairman of the first ISRM EUROCK Symposium—held in Chester, UK, 1992, and Co-Chairman of both of the ISRM SINOROCK Symposia, held in Yichang, China, in 2004, and in Hong Kong, China in 2009.

He also holds Adjunct/Visiting/Honorary Professorial positions at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Wuhan, China, and Hong Kong University, China.  He was the Editor of the International Journal of Rock Mechanics & Mining Sciences for 23 years from 1983 to 2006. He has authored/co-authored six books and more than 150 technical papers, plus a further three edited books, including “Comprehensive Rock Engineering” (5 vols, 4407 pages) which is the only international benchmark overview of all aspects of rock engineering. 

His most recent books are “Rock Failure Mechanisms: Explained and Illustrated” co-authored with Prof Chun’an Tang and published in 2010, and “Rock Engineering Design” co-authored with Prof Xia-Ting Feng and published in 2011.

His research interests cover the whole field of rock mechanics, but are currently concentrated on THMC modelling (as Chairman of the on-going DECOVALEX project), further development of rock engineering design (as President of the 2011–2015 ISRM Commission on Modern Design Methodology), underground research laboratories (as Co-President of the 2011–2015 ISRM Commission on Underground Research Laboratories), and the incorporation of structural geology information into rock mechanics modelling (working in association with Prof John Cosgrove in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering at Imperial College in London, UK, where he is based).