28th ISRM online lecture by Prof. Ömer Aydan at 10 a.m. GMT, 19 December 2019

Dear ISRM Members and Rock Mechanics Colleagues,

For the 28th ISRM Online Lecture the ISRM invited Prof. Ömer Aydan, from the University of the Ryukyus, Japan. The title of the lecture is  “Rock Dynamics and Future Trends”.

The lecture will be broadcast on thursday 19th December, at 10 AM GMT and will remain available in the  online lectures dedicated webpage .

Ömer Aydan obtained his BSc degree in Mining Engineering from Istanbul Technical University, Turkey, in 1979 and MSc degree in Rock Mechanics and Excavation Engineering from University of Newcastle Upon Tyne in 1982, and his PhD in Rock Mechanics from Nagoya University, Japan, in 1989. Aydan worked at Nagoya University as a research associate (1987-1991), and at the Department of Marine Civil Engineering at Tokai University, first as an Assistant Professor (1991-1993), then as Associate Professor (1993-2001), and finally as Professor (2001-2010). Aydan then became Professor of the Institute of Oceanic Research and Development at Tokai University, and is currently Professor at the University of Ryukyus, Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Nishihara, Okinawa, Japan.

Aydan has played an active role in numerous International Society for Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering (ISRM), Japan Society of Civil Engineers, Japan Geotechnical Society, Shinozuka Research Institute and Rock Mechanics National Group of Japan committees, and has organized several national and international symposia and conferences. He organized 2019 Rock Dynamics Summit in Okinawa, Japan during May 7-11, 2019 as a specialized conference of ISRM. He served as the Chairman of the Rock Dynamics Committee of JSCE for two terms between 2013 and 2018, and also as the chairman of Earthquake Disaster Investigation Committee of JSCE for two terms between 2005 and 2010.

He has published 5 books as a part of ISRM Book Series by CRC Press and one of the books is devoted to Rock Dynamics. He was also made Honorary Professor in Earth Science by Pamukkale University (Denizli, Turkey) in 2008 .

Previous ISRM Online Lectures  were given by Wulf Schubert, John Hudson, Pierre Duffaut, Eduardo Alonso, John Read, Herbert Einstein, Shunsuke Sakurai, Resat Ulusay, Dick Stacey, Jean Sulem, Nick Barton, Ove Stephansson, Peter Kaiser, Walter Wittke, Nielen van der Merwe, Giovanni Barla, Charles Fairhurst, Marc Panet, Xia-Ting Feng, Milton Kanji, Laura Pyrak-Nolte,  Håkan Stille, Maurice Dusseault, Claudio Ollala, Derek Martin, José Lemos and Derek Elsworth .
The lecture will remain online so that those unable to attend at this time will be able to do it later. As usual, the attendees will be able to ask questions to the lecturer by e-mail during the subsequent five days. All online lectures are available from  this page .

ISRM Secretariat, c/o LNEC, Av. Brasil, 101, 1700-066 Lisboa, PORTUGAL
Tel: (+351) 218443419; Fax: (+351) 218443021; Website:  www.isrm.net ; E-mail:  secretariat@isrm.net

ISRM Privacy Policy
Click here to subscribe or unsubscribe to the ISRM Newsletter